How should I export the API of a shared library?

I use Eclipse CDT on a Fedora machine for developing C++ code. In the first project I programmed in C++, I wrote a client for Basex (Open Source XML database). So I am still a newbie in the C++ field.
To develop the code, I used 2 CMake projects. The test program was developed in the first project. The actual client was developed in the other project. The client now consists of 6 C++ files, each with its own header file. Each header file describes part of the complete API. And each header describes a class with both public and private methods.
My intention is to export the second project as a shared library. And as far as I understand it, I need to export the public API of a shared library through 1 single header file.

My question is how the content of that public API relates to the individual header files. Should I transfer all the public information to the public API?
Where can I find more information about the structure of a shared library?
as far as I understand it, I need to export the public API of a shared library through 1 single header file

I would say that is the standard practice, but not completely a requirement. You could provide each header and definition (*.h and *.cpp pair) as it's own shared library for instance; let's say your entire API spans 30MB or more and you want to give the user the ability to just include the bare-bones of your API as needed. I think QT does something like that where you could request exclusion and addition of certain chunks of the API to save build space.

Just make sure that you specify the correct compiler commands for creating a shared library "-shared -fPIC", and the output should follow a naming format like "-o libYourFramework.so" because Linux expects your shared libraries to start with the word lib.

My question is how the content of that public API relates to the individual header files. Should I transfer all the public information to the public API?