How do I bypass a Segmentation fault?

Hey guys.

So I've been programming in C++ for a few months now, and I've been enjoying it all the way through. This is my first time using a programming language that is strict with memory, and I'm having a particular issue with the segmentation

Recently I've gotten into competitive programming as a fun little hobby to improve my overall problem solving skills, and I'm currently trying to do this problem: https://codeforces.com/problemset/problem/318/A

The question itself is pretty easy, and everything works until the last test that tries "1000000000000 500000000001"

Which in result, it outputs a segmentation fault. Is there something I'm doing wrong that I can improve on? Thanks!

Here is my program:
#include <iostream>

int main() {

int n, k, pos=0;
    std::cin >> n;
    std::cin >> k;

int *arr = new int[n];

for(int i = 1; i <= n; i++) {
        if(i % 2 != 0) {
            arr[pos] = i;
            pos++;
        }
    }

for(int i = 1; i < n; i++) {
        if(i % 2 == 0) {
            arr[pos] = i;
            pos++;
        }
    }

std::cout << arr[k - 1] << std::endl;

return 0;
}
Is there something I'm doing wrong that I can improve on?

The program doesn't account for the limited range of int.

The program also ignores the 256 megabyte memory limit: an array of 1000000000000 four-byte ints is four terabytes. You'll have to come up with an algorithm that doesn't allocate a linear amount of memory.

The "real problem" is that the program doesn't validate user input.
In the wild a program that didn't do that would be considered seriously defective, but this is a competition where security and robustness are deliberately thrown away for speed. YMMV.
if its tuned for speed, why not i+=2 in the loops... and start them at 2 and 1 respectively? Then you can also remove the ifs -- you know each one will be true
Last edited on